Steering Committee




The Steering Committee is an effective consulting organ of COMPETE. A representative from each of the work package leaders and selected project partners will be invited to join the Committee. The Committee will meet in regular sequences (e.g. in Brussels, on the occasion of topic related conferences, at the site of one of the partners, via international telephone conferences etc.) to decide commonly on pending project issues. The role of the Steering Committee will be to provide strategic guidance to the project activities and to ensure the relevance of the deliverables.


Members of the Steering Committee


 Rainer Janssen  WIP – Renewable Energies  Germany
 Jeremy Woods  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine  United Kingdom
 Helen Watson  University of KwaZulu-Natal  South Africa
 André P.C. Faaij  Utrecht University  The Netherlands
 P.R.K Sobhanbabu  Winrock International India  India
 Francis Johnson  Stockholm Environment Institute  Sweden
 Giuliano Grassi  European Biomass Industry Association  Belgium
 Michael Hofmann  Energy for Sustainable Development Ltd.  United Kingdom
 Stephen Mutimba  Energy for Sustainable Development Africa Ltd.  Kenya
 Khamarunga Banda

 Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis
 Network of Southern Africa

 Southern African
 Donald Kgathi  University of Botswana  Botswana
 Estomih Sawe  Tanzania Traditional Energy Development and Environment
 Francis Yamba  Center for Energy, Environment and Engineering Zambia  Zambia
 Astrid Agostini  Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations  International
 Ibrahim Togola  Mali-Folkecenter  Mali
 Kingiri Senelwa  MOI University  Kenya
 Mamadou Dianka  UEMOA - Biomass Energy Regional Program (PRBE)  Burkina Faso
 José Moreira  Centro Nacional de Referencia em Biomassa  Brazil